BACK TO HOME PAGE
1400 Washington Avenue - Garden District
Click on tomb above for Lafayette cemetery photo album
Lafayette Cemetery was established in 1833 in what is now known as the Garden District for "Les Americaines" (the Americans). In 1833, this area was known as the city of Lafayette. It was part of the Livaudais plantation which was subdivided into city squares in 1832. This city square was acquired from Cornelius Hurst and the cemetery was laid out by the city surveyor Benjamin Buisson. The entrance is on Washington Avenue across the street from the famous restaurant Commander's Palace. There was a geat division between the Creoles and the Americans, both literally and figuratively. The "neutral ground" of what is now Canal street was the physical divider between the Creoles in the French Quarter and the new Protestant settlers. Upon arrival, one would notice more Irish and German names on the tombs than the French and Spanish found in the older St. Louis Cemeteries. There are many people buried here from the yellow fever epidemic and it is said that cemetery architecture was just as lucrative as city architecture because so many people were dying at once.
This cemetery is the only one in New Orleans dedicated to anyone. It is dedicated to the musician Theodore Von LaHache in 1823, a musician who founded the New Orleans Philharmonic Society. The dedication hangs below the front gate entrance on Washington Avenue. There is a confederate general here, Harry T Hays, buried in 1876 as well as some Civil War vets. There is a civil war-era Louisiana Governor Henry Watkins Allen. After the filming of Interview with a Vampire in this cemetery, the crowds of visitors has increased. It is now a tourist destination for visitors who want to experience a part of the New Orleans' "Cities of the Dead."